My name is Mathew, and I liked the first Assassins Creed. I know, I know. That makes me an idiot, a moron, etc. Because the 'voice of the internet'(TM) deemed it an over hyped game that when upon reflection is repetitive and shallow. Those things it may have been, but it was also fun. Fun from the beginning right up to the end (the final act was a let down, ill concede that point).
As much as I liked AC1, I think AC2 improves in every possible way. If you could give an award for most improved game, I cannot think of a more deserving sequel. Everything seems to be improved from the first game.
This time around Desmond goes diving into the memories of Ezio, who unlike Altiar, is a fuller more fleshed out character. You are introduced to your abilities more slowly in this game which improves the pacing, it also gives you more interaction with the character before he becomes the stone cold killer we all know he will be. Ezio is the son of a wealthy man of Florence, during the Renassaince. He quickly finds himself friends with one of the great thinkers of the time, Leonardo Da Vinci.
Having Da Vinci as a friend may seem a little gimmicky, trying to crowbar in a famous face, however it adds to the game, making Ezio seem more like a person who actually existed.
I wont go and spoil the story, as it is the reason to play through the game, however I will say that things did just kind of happen until I had a few hours to sit down, play a few missions and read through the database to find out what is going on. Also it should be noted that I thought you got revenge early on, now you seem to be more on a mission of bloodlust than revenge. Looking to eliminate not just the people directly responsible for your tradgedy, but for anyone even remotely associated.
The biggest change you will notice is that there is so much to do. In the last game it was a fairly linear in terms of mission progression. Go thought the three or four activities a few times, then kill someone. Rinse and repeat. If you were really obsessive (I was) you could hunt down all the templars and flags, but they weren't exactly innovative or exciting.
This time though, in-between missions you can go for a race, buy paintings, armour or upgrades to your villa.
You can go hunting for feathers or treasure (the feathers replace the flags from the first game, the treasure though is marked on your map).
You can hunt down codex pages, or glyphs on landmarks (Once you find these glyphs, they unlock their own mini games, which are just challenging enough to make you feel like you have earnt the reward.
You can chase down pickpockets and couriers, loot corpses.
You can search for codex pages, or take the platforming challenges that seem to be assosciated with finding the Assassins Seals (which you need to unlock the armor of Altiar). All this and I am less than half the way through.
The good thing about it is that it does have variety. There is a lot of treasure to hunt down, however it is not in the HUGE numbers that nazi bases were in The Saboteur, and you can always take a break to do a race, a quick assassination, or hell, even a mission.
I should also mention the other things you can do, not so much activities, just things that are there. Pick too many pockets, kill too many guards and your infamy goes up, this means the guards are on the lookout. To fix that you can bribe the town criers or start ripping down wanted posters.
Another touch that makes the world seem more genuine. You can also change the clothes you wear. A very superficial touch, but one that helps you to project just a little bit of personality on to Ezio.
Which brings us to the missions. They are rather standard so far. Go here, meet this person, find this person, kill them. You do not notice if they are repetitive as there is so much that can be done in between.
What else to mention? The game does include some humor, which is nice. Meeting your uncle for the first time got a genuine laugh from me. Its nice to see your villa look more presentable as you spend money on it. Money itself is also a good addition. Although after a few upgrades the villa seems to make it almost inconsequential, I am still stealing the 3 florins from corpses, still grabbing some handfuls as I walk past others.
What I am Looking forward to:
Seeing what else there is. I know there are some more weapons to use, and I can't wait. So far its a solid ride.
Best things so far:
Ezio. As a character in the story, as a puppet to control. He seems much more alive, MUCH more likable and more relatable than Altiar.
Worst things so far:
Some of the missions where you have to follow someone seem a little, trial and error. I didn't think there was anyway you could do them in one go. However, that may have just been me. I have gotten better at tracking those damn pickpockets and couriers.
My feelings on Art.
15 years ago